Deerhoof Get Lætitia Sadier, Juana Molina for 'Mountain Moves' LP

Deerhoof Get Lætitia Sadier, Juana Molina for 'Mountain Moves' LP
After bringing us The Magic last year, Deerhoof have readied another full-length for release this year. Titled Mountain Moves, the record will arrive through Joyful Noise on September 8.

Fifteen tracks in length, Mountain Moves features covers of songs from Bob Marley, the Staple Singers and Violetta Parra. Guest features include Stereolab's Lætitia Sadier, Juana Molina, Awkwafina, Wye Oak's Jenn Wasner, Xenia Rubinos and more.

Wasner can be heard on the record's first single, "I Will Spite Survive," which premiered today through Democracy Now!. Deerhoof offered up the following statement on the track:

In this world of tyrants and CEOs seemingly hellbent on achieving the termination of our species, perhaps the most rebellious thing we could do is not die. Should we survive the global warming, the lack of healthcare, and the bombs, a more humane future may await us. Maligned for shirking their capitalist duty, it is the younger generations we center. Safeguarding our consciences is only part of the daily challenge, since we also need to navigate corporate-owned electronic media which both aids and saps our energies. Fans of Wye Oak will be thrilled (as we were) to hear Jenn Wasner harmonize with Deerhoof singer Satomi Matsuzaki, while fans of Gloria Gaynor, Bee Gees, or The Bobby Fuller Four may detect homage in the lyrics:

"I Will Spite Survive"
You could outlive your executioners but you're on tv.

You're expendable.
Sleep at night, if you can stay alive.
Stay alive, if you can sleep at night.
City breaks, if you can stay awake.
Let her dance, all night long!

The voices of reason and humanity are puzzlingly but systematically iced out of our national conversation by politicians and media bought by large corporations. Whether we're talking about money in politics, trade deals, surveillance, bank bailouts, healthcare, climate change, Middle Eastern wars, or wealth equality, the mainstream popular view is dismissed as unrealistically "far left," while the views of a small dissenting minority are advanced as acceptably "conservative," "centrist," or "liberal." That's why news outlets NOT owned by large corporations are so lovable, and Democracy Now! may be the most lovable of them all.

Hear the track after reading through the tracklist for Mountain Moves below.

Mountain Moves:

1. Slow Motion Detonation (feat. Juana Molina)
2. Con Sordino
3. I Will Spite Survive (feat. Jenn Wasner)
4. Come Down Here And Say That (feat. Lætitia Sadier)
5. Gracias A La Vida (Violeta Parra Cover)
6. Begin Countdown
7. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (feat. Awkwafina)
8. Ay That's Me
9. Palace Of The Governors
10. Singalong Junk (feat. Xenia Rubinos)
11. Mountain Moves (feat. Matana Roberts)
12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers Cover)
13. Sea Moves (feat. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14. Kokoye
15. Small Axe (Bob Marley Cover)