Daniel Caesar Will Release New Music This Week

The Toronto artist is teasing the arrival of "#CASESTUDY01"
Daniel Caesar Will Release New Music This Week
Nearly two years on from delivering his celebrated studio debut Freudian, Daniel Caesar is teasing the arrival of new music come the end of this week.

On social media today, the Toronto artist shared posts pointing to the arrival new material this Friday (June 28), meaning it will most likely arrive at midnight the night before.

The posts — hashtagged #CASESTUDY01 — feature a video of a figure walking through a barren desert, set to a muted keyboard melody and a sample of scientist J. Robert Oppenheimer famously quoting sacred Hindu text Bhagavad-Gita, "Now I am become death, the destroyer of worlds."

06.28.19 #CASESTUDY01

A post shared by Daniel Caesar (@danielcaesar) on

While it remains to be seen whether Caesar is teasing the arrival of a new single or a full-blown follow-up to Freudian, he treated fans to a taste of new material in Los Angeles earlier this week. On Monday (June 24), Caesar held a "Case Study 01" listening event for 200 guests and industry figures.

Some short clips and reaction from the event have since found their way online. In the time since releasing Freudian, Caesar teamed with T-Pain for single "Who Hurt You?" and has also collaborated with Jessie Reyez, Common and Anderson .Paak's Free Nationals. His video for the H.E.R.-assisted "Best Part" was a finalist for the 2019 Prism Prize earlier this year.